Month: December 2011

  • Cambridge + Notting Hill 25 Aug 2011

    在古老書院裡讀書的幸福
    一直很喜歡古老的東西,古建築,古董,古鎮,凡是老的有故事的都是我的最愛。記得選大學是第一志願是港大,為的只是那Main Building。港大上不了,去了不舊不新的浸大。因禍得福,因為後來發現港大的生活應該不太適合我。這次和Steph到了劍橋,免不了羨慕那些每天在這些幾百年古建築裡上課生活的大學生。他們有的是傳統和非一般的歸屬感,還少不了的優越感。在這種如詩如畫的校院裡,難免特別開豁,腦筋靈活。所以說,貧者越貧,富者越富,就是這個意思。去劍橋當天下著毛毛細雨。其實我覺得這樣的劍橋才最有味道。

    和Steph的單身對話
    我們都單身了一陣子了。對於單身這回事都有很相似的看法。從大學認識Steph開始,到多倫多看她,到倫敦看她,感覺我們一起成長了很多。雖然我們長期在不同的地方居住,但心靈一直走得很近。每次的update都是深入的話題。至於單身這件事,她大概是最了解我的人。而我,卻不太了解我自己。

    Notting Hill的寶物
    第一次嘗試去Notting Hill,是和阿甘去的,走錯路,去了Kensington Park。這次和Steph在Convent Garden吃完早餐,我獨自去了Notting Hill market。 這是一個天氣特別晴朗的星期天上午,我跟著一批一批的人潮往Notting Hill market進發。滿街的古董店讓我精神為之一振,一般到這個時候我就希望擁有無窮無量的錢,因為我對舊的事物總是可看而不可得的。雖然我的錢不多,我還是找到我能負擔的寶物。買了一張1920年的南北極地圖,放在書房提醒著自己的夢想。經過一家店,聽到小朋友玩的樂器聲音很特別,問了一下,發現是沙漠地區的人用以求雨的樂器。那種聲音對我特有吸引力。買下來放在家,偶爾臨睡前聽一下,心情特別平靜,睡得更穩。掙扎了許久買不買Banksy畫作的消費品,後來還是覺得違背了Banksy的藝術本質,忍痛沒有買了。

    Day 1

    Steph and I finally got a chance to go to Cambridge together after planning it for so long. Thanks for booking the ticket and research online for the self-guided tour, Steph. I really enjoy our chat and our visit to Cambridge.

    Cambridge is definitely a beautiful university. The old campus, especially St.John College was very impressive. Some of the colleges were not open for public, so we could not see all of them. We envy the students in this university. It must be very enjoyable to study in such old buildings.

    like the stone decoration at the church!

    The Saturday market was not very exciting

    The very beautiful St.John College

    This gentleman was trying to stop us walking on the grassland because his friends were taking wedding photos. He then offered us some information of the college.

    The gentleman told us that students can get married at the Chapel in St.John College within 5 years after their graduation. It is the case of his friends.

    Love the vegetation on the wall

    The round church

    We visited a house of an art collector. It was a stylish little place. I quite like the way he placed the artwork and antique. It is an ideal house.

    We felt hungry at the mid-way of our Cambridge tour, so we sat down and had our coffee time. It was kind of a heavy chat, but I enjoy every moment spending with Steph.

    After our coffee time, Steph tried to ask if anyone knows how to go to the Chinese poet monument at Cambridge. We could not find it though.  

    Kongzi statue

    When we got back to London, Steph brought me to the very famous platform 9 3/4 at King Cross station. It was an interesting idea to set a platform as the Harry Potter one for tourists.

    Day 2

    Next morning, Steph and I had a lovely breakfast at Convent Garden. Then she went to her school to work on her paper and I headed to Notting Hill market.

    Notting Hill

    It was a wonderful morning to go to Notting Hill. The antique shops along the road were cutie. I just hope that I have more money to buy everything I like. At the end, I still got an antique map of south and north pole in 1920 and an musical instrument from desert area. I saw some posters and bags of Banksy artwork. However, I believe that it is against the belief of Banksy, so I did not buy any.

    Such a nice morning at the market, I was glad that I was finally there.

  • House Warming 20 Aug 2011

    又House Warming了,今次謝謝為我們準備大餐的Ringo,你實在太利害了!

    有幾個在照片中沒有出現的朋友其實都有來探望我,+0和Makayla下午來了,智美和Lydia也有後Join,死貓也買了超實用的入伙禮物。真謝謝你們呢!

    特別謝謝Lydia分享了我們的不丹之旅,不知道還有沒有機會跟你去旅行呢?

    而全晚最開心的就是一起玩三國殺。由於我這個主公太無能,所以笑料百出,我又有點喝多了,超吵!最後被鄰居投訴呢,唉丫!

    新屋新開始,有了自己的地方,希望可以好好的跟Natasha享受這個家。

  • Reinga and Eric LA wedding + Grand Canyon 5 Aug 2011

    This trip was divided in 2 parts.

     

    Part 1: Eric and Regina wedding

     

    Eric was my secondary schoolmate and Regina is his beautiful wife.  When I was flying to Peru for my trip in last April, I stayed at their home for transit and I really enjoy the stay with them. So, I decided to swap some day off to attend their wedding in LA.

     

    Some other secondary schoolmates also flew all the way to LA for them, so it was a small reunion as well. Thanks for letting me stay at your place, Eric! Poor you needed to sleep on the floor before the wedding.

     

    They got married in a cruise and it was a very beautiful venue. Everything went smoothly. The wedding was elegant and warm. Regina, I do enjoy your first dance, don’t think too much!!! Haha!

     

    The most surprising thing was that I got to talk to my “long time no see” friend- Derek. Thank you for driving me to the hotel and we could chat all the way. It was amazing to listen to his story since we did not meet up for so long. I wish you luck from now on.

     

    I just stayed with Eric and Regina for 2 days and then headed to my part 2 right after the wedding dinner.

    Winky the Pooh was suffering from jetlag once she arrived at LA!

     

      YLPSS reunion in LA!

     

     

    Part 2: Grand Canyon trip with Erin

     

    Erin was an exchange student in BU. When she visited Hong Kong, she stayed at my place. This time, I called her up before the trip and see if she is interested to go to Grand Canyon with me. She was so excited and flew from Seattle to LA for me. Thank you so much Erin!

     

    It was a very nice trip though it was short. I feel sorry for Erin as she needed to drive all the way from LA to Grand Canyon as I could not drive in the US.

     

    We started our trip in early morning and arrived Grand Canyon before the sunset. Then, we set our tent up at the campground (thank you for booking campground and bringing your tent Erin). Woke up for the sunrise next morning and went hiking a bit on the rim. We headed to Las Vegas in the afternoon and visited Hoover dam in the mid-way. Stayed a night at Las Vegas.  After spending a morning in Las Vegas, we went back to LA and I took the flight back to Hong Kong.

     

    It was a bit rush and I could not hide my hate toward Las Vegas. Sorry Erin!

     

    Erin and I got a chance to catch up a lot and I really enjoy the Grand Canyon part of the trip. It was wonderful to see it with my eyes finally. This is absolutely stunning. Grand Canyon is a piece of artwork from the invisible hand.  Camping at Grand Canyon and taking shower with time limit were very exciting experience. Of course, sunrise and sunset at Grand Canyon were breathtakingly beautiful!

    I hope I get a chance to visit the North Rim and have a 2-day hike down the Canyon next time.

      Here we go!!

     

     

    Sunset

     

      The moon is out!

    Must try, right?

    Our tent at the campground

     

    Sunrise

     

     

    Small hike on the Rims

     

     

     

    Hoover Dam

    Las Vegas

    When I saw these castles, I said: Look at this, my god!
    Erin said: Winky, this is where we are staying tonight!!

     

    我的天堂與地獄

     

    大峽谷的天然美景是我的天堂。雖然遊覽的時間太短,但我真的很享受在大峽谷的每一刻。但開了幾個小時的車到達了拉斯維加斯,我就從天堂跌落了地獄。曾經有親人跟我提過拉斯維加斯是全世界最美的地方。我明白各花入各眼,但我真的認為這是我見過最醜的地方。每個賭場都非常誇張,全無美感可言,整個城市都是主題公園,毫無生活。這是個充滿金錢,娛樂,邪惡的地方。我在街上走著就頭痛,見到一大堆不知所謂的年青人在說無聊的話,做無聊的事。如果我一生都沒有機會去拉斯維加斯,我一點都不會覺得可惜。而且,我永遠都不想再踏足拉斯維加斯。

  • Taipei 31 Jul 2011

    CyrusJade (我的社友)到台灣參加AYCcamp,提前到台北走走,碰巧我從莫斯科回來時間配合得了,我就去台北跟他們玩幾天。

     

    每天的行程沒甚麼特別,但這次旅程有幾個亮點。


     

    第一,盧廣仲

     

    我是盧廣仲的粉絲。超謝謝Cyrus出發前查了Taipei LegacyShow,發現我們能買票看到盧廣仲的演唱會。知道這消息後我一直非常興奮,這變成了這旅程最大的期待。演唱會近於新碟發佈會,第一次聽他的現場演出,還把新碟的歌一首一首的唱,讓我感動得很。當他唱“梅西好朋友”的時候,可愛的字幕配合他的唱腔,我為他的那種純真和趣怪深深打動了。哪有人像他一樣想出這樣的歌詞?只有真正善良可愛如他的人才有機會做出這樣的作品吧!這也是他在我心目中無可代替的原因。他只是隨自己所想做音樂,他喜歡吃早餐,就寫“早安, 晨之美”。他不喜歡別人吵醒他,他便寫“別在我睡著的時候打電話給我”,他想作一首他爺爺聽得懂的歌,便有了“港邊男兒”。討厭蚊子,就寫了“蚊子”。隨手拾來,清新自然之極。每次聽他的歌,都覺得很溫暖,會心微笑。那你們應該可以想像我第一次到現場聽他唱歌,還是在台灣的激動指數吧!還有少不了他那招牌的:Yeah!

     

    但最激動的還是表演嘉賓出場的時候!我覺得自己簡直是世界上最幸運的人呢(有點誇張)-嘉賓是陳……………貞(如果是范曉萱我應該當場暈倒)。我興奮得大叫起來,剩下的就不用細說了。

     

    就在看完盧廣仲演唱會的第二天下午,我們去了寶藏巖藝術村走走。突然,我看見一個樣子很怪但很眼熟的男生,我想了一想,跟Cyrus說:這個是盧廣仲嗎?他說:不是吧。我想,哪有那麼多樣子怪異如此的男生呢?再多看幾眼,我們就肯定了他是盧廣仲。這一驚非同小可,昨晚在台下當他的觀眾,今天就隨便在街上遇見他。他正在拍攝硬照,我跟工作人員說了這件巧事。他們說這是廣仲的造型,所以不能拍照,免得照片流出去。哇!真的是很新的造型呢!盧廣仲穿T-Shirt短褲,真的是前所未見,不是嗎?(怒!)

     

    後來,知道了他當時就在寶藏巖拍攝這個MV:

     

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t3cH9Ib_bYA&feature=share

     

     

     

     

     

    第二,會動的清明上河圖

     

    我隨便在地鐵車箱見到“會動的清明上河圖”的宣傳廣告,說:這在世博和香港的時候我都沒機會看。隨即發現CyrusJade也沒看過,我們就決定一起去花博看清明上河圖。由於門票比香港貴得多,沒有出現香港那種人山人海,還有時間限制的情況。我們可以慢慢欣賞。在會動的那部分出現前,我們先欣賞不同時期的清明上河圖,並認識它的藝術風格。我們三個都很有興趣,一節一節慢慢看,當時的畫功真是利害,一點那麼小的人兒,我們也能清楚看到他的動態表情。看著“不動的”清明上河圖,我已經感覺到有幾百個故事同時發生,難怪有人想出“會動的清明上河圖”這個構思。

    到我們走到“會動的”部分,配合了聲效的清明上河圖真的把明朝的蘇州城活現在眼前。熒幕還會隨著時間不同而呈現白天和晚上的情形,所以我要來回看幾次。白天的蘇州城非常熱鬧,各行各業叫賣爭生意,晚上的河邊則掛著一盞一盞的暗燈,非常動人。於我而言,這是一個藝術再創造的成功例子呢!

    在世博,我沒有想過去爭那中國館的門票。在香港,我媽除了我以外,把全家的門票都買齊了。想不到在完全沒有計劃的情況下,隨便就在台北看到了。而且,我深信那個是最適合我去看的一個環境。在上海和香港,我應該會因為逼人而發怒離開場館。我真的很幸運。


     

     

     

    ,寶藏巖和台北光點

     

    寶藏巖讓我想起茶果嶺,它們都是依山而建的村落。除了遇見盧廣仲外,我最喜歡的是它的日落。後來跟死貓說起寶藏巖的事,發現她將到台灣當駐村詩人,所駐的就是寶藏巖,哈哈!

     

     

    台北光點

    我們到台北光點為Jade慶祝生日。到了,每一樣東西都好像散發著阿甘的味道似的。

       

    第四,大排檔的對話

     

    我們三人去了Winnie (另一位社友)介紹的街邊大排檔吃蝦。Cyrus就在那個地方慢慢的跟我道出他這幾年的經歷(他有一段時間在社中消失了)。我聽著聽著,對這位社友有了很深的敬意。對於我這生存意志力偏低的人來說,如果他的事發生在我身上,我早就走了。但他還是熬過來了,好起來了,還當起我們的主席。

    這個旅程以後,我們三人親密了很多。這是一大收獲。


     

     

  • Moscow 27 Jul 2011

    I have been waiting for this flight since I joined Cathay. After almost 5 years, I was finally flying to Moscow. For this first visit, I chose red square, St. Basil on day 1 and Zagorsk/Sergiyev Posad on day 2 to go.

    我在莫斯科變成了聾啞人士
    在莫斯科,很多人一聽到你滿口英文就生厭。他們聽不懂,不會說,也沒有耐性跟你厮磨。最後,你只會非常徬惶的對著那些一個英文字母都沒有的路牌發愁。所以,我很快就放棄了語言,全程指手劃腳,指著旅遊資料的俄文,甚至拿紙筆把東西畫出來(羅宋湯是個成功例子)。雖然這樣表達自己真的很累,但我卻發掘出這事的樂趣,發現我比自己想像的更有創意。這個經驗是我在莫斯科最大的得著,也解釋了為甚麼背包旅行(尤其是獨行)這件事讓我那麼著迷,我總是一次又一次的發現新的事和新的自己。最後千辛萬苦的找對了火車月台,向著目的地進發的滿足感,足夠我好好回味。

    In Moscow, people hate to hear English. They do not speak, do not understand and definitely do not have the patience to help you. So, instead of using my mouth, I used body language, pointed at the Russian in the guide book and even drew things out to express myself. Although it was very tiring to do so, I found a lot of fun in it. I am way more creative than I thought I am. This is the most memorable experience in my Moscow visit and it explained why am I so addicted in backpack travel (especially alone). I always discover something new, and most of all, a new Winky. When I finally arrived at the right platform and headed toward my destination, I felt so satisfied.

    莫斯科的地鐵站應該是全世界最美的
    我一直以香港的地鐵系統為傲,尤其是見識過差點讓我窒息的Tube,髒髒的Subway和佈滿報紙的Metro,我對港鐵加倍珍惜。但相比起莫斯科的地鐵站,港鐵站實在太醜了。莫斯科的每個地鐵站都有華麗的壁畫,細緻的雕刻,在黃黃的吊燈下,顯得像皇宮一樣。雖然我經常在地鐵站迷路,但也因此見到很多不同的裝飾。你說,一天到晚都是旅遊車帶著你到處走多沒意思呢?

    I am always proud of Hong Kong MTR, especially after I visited other underground, e.g. Tube, Subway and Metro in other countries, I appreciate MTR even more. However, compared with the metro station at Moscow, Hong Kong one is very ugly. Every station at Moscow is decorated with wall paintings, carving and symbols of the communist party. They are all gorgeous under the lamp. Although I was lost in the stations for few times, I got to see different kind of decoration. See? I could never get to see these if I travel with the tour coach. 

    Day 1

    Red Square
    The name of red square is not from its brick color or communist meaning, but meaning “beautiful”. Indeed, it is a very beautiful square with all the historical buildings around it and the most beautiful one is for sure St. Basil. It looks like a candy castle in Fair Tale.

    St.Basil

    Most of the beautiful architectures got a sad story behind. To make sure there is no church as beautiful as St.Basil, the king make the Architect blind. It is sick, but it is just a story may be.

    After visiting St. Basil, I realized that I did not have enough time to visit Kremlin. So, I just wander around the red square and it was a very beautiful day to do so.

    I felt very hungry after the long walk, so I found a restaurant and tried to order a Russian Borscht. I did not know how to call that and the waiters did not speak English, so I drew the soup out with red color. It works!!!

    It is completely different from the one I have tried in Hong Kong. The Russian Borscht was super super tasty. I love the soft cheese on it as it just matches so well.

    After the soup, I slowly walked to the harbor to take the sightseeing boat.

    How can I not buying it? You know me, earring addict!

    They are perfect for this seat!

    The weather was getting worse and worse while I was on the boat.

    Finally I was back to the pier and it rains like cats and dogs. It was impossible for me to walk as I did not have an umbrella with me (the sun was shining so hard just a while ago at the red square).

    I was totally wet when I made my way back to the hotel, but I had an excellent day.

    Day 2

    Zagorsk/ Serguyev Posad

    It was not easy to find the train station which supposed to connect with the metro station. After using a lot of body language and imagination, I finally found the train station. Then I had a really hard time on finding the right platform. No one could help me as they did not understand English. Finally, 2 lady soldiers brought me with them to board the right train and reminded me to get off.

    Serguyev Posad is one of the 7 Golden ring. It took around 2 hours to get there from Moscow.

    Sergeev Posad is the former religious capital of Russia and offers beautifully restored architecture, as well as a taste of what smaller towns in Russia are like. 

    History:
    In the mid-14th century, a young, pious man named Sergius wandered into the woods north of Moscow to begin a life of prayer and religious contemplation.  He was soon visited by groups of travelers seeking wisdom and miracles from him, which Sergius was soon known for giving freely.  Monks from the Orthodox Church soon heard of him and traveled to study with him.  The monks and Sergius founded a monastery that would become, perhaps, the most important in all of Russia. 

    How to Get There: 

    • Trains leave regularly (about one per hour) from the Yaroslavski Railroad Station (located at the Komsomolskaya Metro stop). 
    • Busses leave regularly from VDNH-VVC Bus Station (located at VDNH Metro stop).  Look for busses with “s.p.” (с.п.) written in the window someplace.   

    The market outside the monastery is very famous with its touristic goods. I heard that it is cheaper than the one in Moscow, so I bought a lot. hahahaha!

    The Monastery
    When I was in Moscow, I fell in love with the onion-top churches. St.Basil was very beautiful with its colourful paint. In Sergesy Posad, the golden and blue with stars onion-top were very eye-catching as well. Together with other towers and buildings in the monastery, it was great to see the harmony of it.

    Ladies supposed to have a scarf on their head to enter the monastery as a respect.

     

    I was walking around this old town after visiting the monastery and found some nice old houses.

    I tried to treasure my chance on getting the Russian Borscht. So, my second one is here!

    Slowly walked my way back to the train station and got on the train to Moscow.

    Lastly, I would like to show you all how beautiful are the decoration of the metro station in Moscow!

    Moscow is very unique and I cant wait to visit St.Petersburg and travel with Trans-Siberian Railway one day.

  • Dechen in town 24 Jul 2011

    A week after our trip to Bhutan, Dechen (our Bhutanese travel agent) came to Hong Kong for his business trip.

    We met up at a traditional Cha Chaan Teng to show Dechen the local food of Hong Kong. Lydia brought her mum with her and we had a very nice chat together.

    Hope to see you somewhere in the world again, Dechen.

  • Polly’s boyfriend- Angel in town 22 July 2011

    First of all, Angel is my sister’s Spanish boyfriend, not mine. I have to make it clear here.

    After 4 years of hidden relationship with Polly, Angel came to “meet the parents” finally. I promised him to be there when he first met my parents, so I stayed for this historical moment.

    It was amazing to see this scene and it reminded me the time when Kyle met my parents few years ago. Time flies.

    Dad was convinced that Spanish are not black people when he met Angel! Thanks God!

    As Polly and Angel cannot see the ocean in Beijing, they tried to go to as many beaches as possible when they were in Hong Kong, so I have a lot of beach time with them.

    Congrats Angel and Polly! I cannot wait to come to Spain for the wedding.