December 19, 2011

  • Reinga and Eric LA wedding + Grand Canyon 5 Aug 2011

    This trip was divided in 2 parts.

     

    Part 1: Eric and Regina wedding

     

    Eric was my secondary schoolmate and Regina is his beautiful wife.  When I was flying to Peru for my trip in last April, I stayed at their home for transit and I really enjoy the stay with them. So, I decided to swap some day off to attend their wedding in LA.

     

    Some other secondary schoolmates also flew all the way to LA for them, so it was a small reunion as well. Thanks for letting me stay at your place, Eric! Poor you needed to sleep on the floor before the wedding.

     

    They got married in a cruise and it was a very beautiful venue. Everything went smoothly. The wedding was elegant and warm. Regina, I do enjoy your first dance, don’t think too much!!! Haha!

     

    The most surprising thing was that I got to talk to my “long time no see” friend- Derek. Thank you for driving me to the hotel and we could chat all the way. It was amazing to listen to his story since we did not meet up for so long. I wish you luck from now on.

     

    I just stayed with Eric and Regina for 2 days and then headed to my part 2 right after the wedding dinner.

    Winky the Pooh was suffering from jetlag once she arrived at LA!

     

      YLPSS reunion in LA!

     

     

    Part 2: Grand Canyon trip with Erin

     

    Erin was an exchange student in BU. When she visited Hong Kong, she stayed at my place. This time, I called her up before the trip and see if she is interested to go to Grand Canyon with me. She was so excited and flew from Seattle to LA for me. Thank you so much Erin!

     

    It was a very nice trip though it was short. I feel sorry for Erin as she needed to drive all the way from LA to Grand Canyon as I could not drive in the US.

     

    We started our trip in early morning and arrived Grand Canyon before the sunset. Then, we set our tent up at the campground (thank you for booking campground and bringing your tent Erin). Woke up for the sunrise next morning and went hiking a bit on the rim. We headed to Las Vegas in the afternoon and visited Hoover dam in the mid-way. Stayed a night at Las Vegas.  After spending a morning in Las Vegas, we went back to LA and I took the flight back to Hong Kong.

     

    It was a bit rush and I could not hide my hate toward Las Vegas. Sorry Erin!

     

    Erin and I got a chance to catch up a lot and I really enjoy the Grand Canyon part of the trip. It was wonderful to see it with my eyes finally. This is absolutely stunning. Grand Canyon is a piece of artwork from the invisible hand.  Camping at Grand Canyon and taking shower with time limit were very exciting experience. Of course, sunrise and sunset at Grand Canyon were breathtakingly beautiful!

    I hope I get a chance to visit the North Rim and have a 2-day hike down the Canyon next time.

      Here we go!!

     

     

    Sunset

     

      The moon is out!

    Must try, right?

    Our tent at the campground

     

    Sunrise

     

     

    Small hike on the Rims

     

     

     

    Hoover Dam

    Las Vegas

    When I saw these castles, I said: Look at this, my god!
    Erin said: Winky, this is where we are staying tonight!!

     

    我的天堂與地獄

     

    大峽谷的天然美景是我的天堂。雖然遊覽的時間太短,但我真的很享受在大峽谷的每一刻。但開了幾個小時的車到達了拉斯維加斯,我就從天堂跌落了地獄。曾經有親人跟我提過拉斯維加斯是全世界最美的地方。我明白各花入各眼,但我真的認為這是我見過最醜的地方。每個賭場都非常誇張,全無美感可言,整個城市都是主題公園,毫無生活。這是個充滿金錢,娛樂,邪惡的地方。我在街上走著就頭痛,見到一大堆不知所謂的年青人在說無聊的話,做無聊的事。如果我一生都沒有機會去拉斯維加斯,我一點都不會覺得可惜。而且,我永遠都不想再踏足拉斯維加斯。

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *