March 8, 2012

  • Sichuan Day 8: Wenchuan-Xiaojin-Rilong (E)

    From Wenchuan (汶川), I had a very long bus ride to Xiaojin (小金). From Xiaojin, I took a mini-van to Rilong town (日隆鎮)which is at the foothill of Siguniang mountain (四故娘山).

    I met this young guy on the mini-van. He brought me to a hostel he recommended (I regret to take his advice, I should have stayed at another one instead), he tried to bargain with the horselady for my trip to Changping gou (長坪溝)in the next day. We had a local noodle and showed me where was the internet bar. At the end he handed me a cutter and said: you are traveling alone as a girl, no matter what happen, it is important to protect yourself.
    I was shocked but I thank you for his concern.

     

    I love Rilong town (日隆鎮)at first sight. It was sunny, small, energetic and full of minorities’ culture. The air was fresh and it was so comfortable to walk along the street (it was so small that only 1 street existed).

     

    As a town at the foothill of Siguniang mountain (四故娘山), Rilong town became the gathering point of the backpack traveller and hikers who climb the mountain. A few famous hostels were there which the boss are professional mountain guide as well.

    The locals were dancing outside the house for 3 days to celebrate a wedding. They dance day and night.

    I am not a mountain hikers, so I planned to visit 2 of the famous valleys- Changping gou (長坪溝) and Shuangqiao gou (雙橋溝)instead of climbing those 4 mountains in the following 2 days.

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *