Month: November 2012

  • LA 20 Mar 2012

    It was complicated.

     

  • Beijing Tango Festival 15 Mar 2012

    Three purpose of the trip:

    1. Dance with someone I really want to dance with.
    There is no romance, but very nice connection and embrace between us. I would say, I come to dance with him.
    I did not enjoy the festival so much, so I skipped all the classes I registered and went home quite early everyday after the Milongas.

    2. Met up Shilin
    We seldom get a chance to meet up. Spending an afternoon with her was enjoyable. We had tea and we shared a lot of experience of ourselves through the time we were apart. Pay a visit of her brother’s photography studio afterward. We had a nice chat and I was impressed with her brother’s ability to have a studio right downtown with its size and quality.

     

    3. Most important of all is my sister- Polly

    Polly went to the Grand Milonga with me to enjoy the performance of masters. When we left, there was very heavy snow. Snow was covering the Hutong.
    Polly and I were trying to walk to the main road very slowly. We held each other arm tight. I found it very touching actually and the snow was very beautiful indeed.

     

    On a weekend, we went to the CAFA Art Museum (中央美术学院美术馆) for an exhibition of a French director- Agnès Varda.

    Before going to the exhibition, I know nothing about this director. However, she drew my attention when I saw her image in the poster.

    How would an old lady be soooo cool to carry the hair colour like this? She is something special.

    Reading about her movie’s info, I realized that her career pre-dates the start of the Nouvelle Vague (French New Wave).
    Not only movies, she is also an artist of photographs and art installations.

    She is really stylish. The film Les plages d’Agnès is an autobiographical essay where Varda revisits places from her past, reminisces about life and celebrates her 80th birthday on camera. Her image in the movie is so adorable. I would love to watch her movie some day.

    At the last part of the exhibition, there were some huge boards talking about her movies one by one. Polly and I were reading the board and suddenly I saw Agnès Varda sitting right next to the board and doing an interview in French.

    We were shocked and it was unbelievable to meet such a director who is over 80 years old all the way from France. We do not know if we will ever get a second chance to meet her in person. So, we came to her after the interview and politely asked if she was willing to take a photo with us.

    Her English was fluent and she was very clear minded. She said yes and we did it.

    So amazing.

    I wish when I am 80, I will dye my hair like her.

    It was such a nice memory.

     

  • Chennai 7 Mar 2012

    Chennai is my earring paradise. Whenever I am there, I buy a lot of earrings.

    This time, I find out that it is quite different to buy earrings for myself and buy earrings for sale. A new experience.

    It was too busy to shop, so I had less time to shoot.

  • Star Hunter Exhibition 4 Mar 2012

    The end of the Star Hunter project. I guess we all learned a lot in the process.
    I was scolded badly by an artist when I was handling certain things with him. Anyway, lesson learned.

    Star Hunters may be confused with some of the procedures of the ceremony and the exhibition, but I saw some great teamwork.

    I felt so young to work with them. They taught me a lot of new phases.

    It was my pleasure to work with all of the Star Hunters.

    I was totally impressed with the building of this star channel. Although it did not function as well as we planned, the kids had fun playing and running around it.